South Pittsburgh Reporter - Serving South Pittsburgh Since 1939

Deadline near to order Thanksgiving Day meal delivered by police

 

November 17, 2020

In this file photo, volunteers prepare some of the thousands of free turkey dinners for Thanksgiving that will be delivered by Pittsburgh Police officers. Last year, more than 3,800 dinners were distributed throughout the city. If you need a Thanksgiving dinner, contact the local zone officer. In Zone 3, contact Officer Christine Luffey, 412-488-8425 or at christine.luffey@pittsburghpa.gov.

Get Stuffed with Love, the annual program to deliver a free meal on Thanksgiving Day to anyone in need of one in the city, is now registering people.

The Rotary Clubs of Bethel-St. Clair and Northern Allegheny along with Holy Assumption of St. Mary Orthodox Church are again partnering to cook and assemble for deliver the Thanksgiving meals. Pittsburgh Police officers will deliver the meals on Thanksgiving Day.

Over the past 17 years, the event has gone from feeding 250 people, including homeless, shut-ins, disabled and those in need, to serving 3,800 meals and the number keep growing.

Deadline date to call in a meal is Friday, Nov. 21, no exceptions. Those in need of a meal should contact their local zone officer.

In South Pittsburgh, contact:

Zone 3: Officer Christine Luffey, 412-488-8425 or at christine.luffey@pittsburghpa.gov

Zone 6: Officer Bill Deschon, 412-937-3051 or at william.deschon@pittsburghpa.gov

In the rest of the city, contact:

Zone 1: Officer Sylvester Wright or Officer Darrick Payton, 412-323-7201 or at darrick.payton@pittsburghpa.gov or at sylvester.wright@pittsburghpa.gov

Zone 2: Officer Antoine Davis or Officer Eldridge Kimbrough, 412-255-0782 (sub station – noon-6 p.m.) or 412-255-2828 or at antoine.davis@pittsburghpa.gov or eldridge.kimbrough@pittsburghpa.gov

Zone 4: Officer Victoria Butch, 412-422-6559 or at victoria.butch@pittsburghpa.gov

Zone 5: Officer Michael Gay, 412-665-3770 or at michael.gay@pittsburghpa.gov

Those who don't need a meal, but would like to donate, should make checks payable to "The Rotary Club of Bethel-St. Clair" and write "Thanksgiving" in the memo. Checks should be mailed to SSB Bank, Attn: Heather Dieckmann, 8700 Perry Highway, Pittsburgh, PA 15237.

 

Reader Comments
(0)

 
 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020

Rendered 11/28/2020 06:30