South Pittsburgh Reporter - Serving South Pittsburgh Since 1939

School Board swears in new area board members


Last updated 12/9/2013 at 7:06pm

Following last week’s Swearing-In Ceremony, four newly elected district representatives joined the Pittsburgh Public Schools Board. Cynthia Ann Falls, District 7; Terry Kennedy, District 5; Carolyn Klug, District 9; and Sylvia Wilson, District 1, each took an Oath of Office and took on a new role in the public education arena.

Re-elected Board Member Thomas Sumpter, District 3, was also sworn in for an additional term.

Cynthia Ann Falls is a retired teacher and vocational instructor and an active PSCC member at four Pittsburgh Public Schools. She is a member of the Carrick Community Council Board of Directors. She also is the chairperson for the Carrick/Overbrook Education Committee.

For more than a decade, Terry Kennedy, a former software engineer, has been an active PTO member at several Pittsburgh Public Schools (Pittsburgh: Allderdice, CAPA, Colfax and Minadeo) and has chaired various committees. Ms. Kennedy is also a member of the Pittsburgh Local Task Force on the Right to Education and co-chair of the High School Issues committee and chair of Accessibility committee.

Carolyn Klug spent 20 years in Pittsburgh classrooms as an elementary teacher. She has worked as an instructional and residential aid for the Western Pennsylvania School for Blind Children, a caseworker for Children and Family Youth Services, a teacher for Pittsburgh Public Schools and a teacher consultant for the Western Pennsylvania Writing Project. In addition, Ms. Klug has volunteered for various community organizations, such as Girl Schools of Western Pennsylvania and the Pittsburgh Symphony.

Prior to serving as the assistant to the president of the Pittsburgh Federation of Teachers (PFT), Sylvia Wilson served as secretary of the PFT executive board since 1979. Ms. Wilson previously taught elementary school throughout the Pittsburgh Public Schools for 26 years. For more than 20 years, she was an active volunteer with community youth baseball and football organizations. Additionally, Ms. Wilson serves on the ALCOSAN Board as the joint city-county appointee.

After the Oath of Office was administered, board members elected officers for the 2014 fiscal year.

Thomas Sumpter was elected board president. Mr. Sumpter was first elected to the board as the District 3 representative in 2005 and has served as both first and second vice-president. He has chaired the following board committees: Education, Information and Technology and Board Effectiveness.

Additionally, he has served on the Negotiations, Government and Ad hoc committees. Currently, Mr. Sumpter represents the board at the Pennsylvania School Boards Association and Head Start Policy Council.

William Isler elected board first vice president. Mr. Isler was first elected to the board in 1999 as the District 4 representative. He has served as board president and as a Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh Board of Trustees liaison. He has also represented the board as a Council of the Great City Schools delegate.

Mr. Isler began his career as a teacher and administrator. He then joined the Pennsylvania Department of Education, where he served as commissioner of Basic Education and Senior Program Advisor for Early Childhood Education. He is the father of a Pittsburgh Public Schools graduate and currently is employed as the president of the Fred Rogers Company.

Carolyn Klug was elected board second vice president

The school board representatives in the South Pittsburgh area are:

Mark Brentley, Sr., District 8: Manchester, Beltzhoover, parts of Northside, parts of Hill District and Downtown

Cynthia Ann Falls, District 7: Allentown, Arlington, Bon Air, Carrick, East Brookline, Knoxville, Mt. Oliver, Overbrook and South Side Slopes

Sherry Hazuda, District 6: Brookline, Beechview, Banksville, West End, Mt. Washington, Westwood and East Carnegie.

Terry Kennedy, District 5: South Side, Lincoln Place, Greenfield, South Oakland, Central Oakland, Summerset at Frick Park, Hazelwood, Swisselm Park and Squirrel Hill.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022

Rendered 01/27/2023 04:06