March 4, 2008 |

Awards ceremony highlights 139th Mt. Oliver Fire Department Dinner

Jim Cassidy is congratulated by officers and board members of the Mount Oliver Fire Department after being named the Firefighter of the Year during the 139th Installation Dinner of the fire company. Additional photos on Page 4.

The 139th Installation Dinner of the Mount Oliver Fire Department included awards and recognition for longtime members of the fire company and its ladies auxiliary.

The awards ceremony culminated in the presentation of the Fire Fighter of the Year Award to James Cassidy, president of the fire company, recognizing his 35 years of service to the organization.

In addition, Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Dave Herold and Tom Plietz; the Unsung Hero Award to Patty Cassidy; and, the Man of the Year Award to Tony Gigliotti.


Judge King also administered the oath to the Ladies Auxiliary to the Mount Oliver Fire Department. Officers of the organization are: President June Cassidy, Vice-President Ruth Chernosky, Secretary Patti Kestner and Treasurer Mary Smith. Board member include: Michele Davis, Kim Kestner, Donna Smith, Jessica Marsh and Linda Smith.


Ladies Auxiliary President June Cassidy recognized long-time members Tina Kreil and Lisa Lapp for their past service to the organization. Ms. Cassidy also said the auxiliary had donated another $5,000 to the fire company for equipment. She said that last year the auxiliary contributed nearly $17,000 toward the purchase of 35 sets of new turn-out gear for the firefighters. Total cost of the turn-out gear was more than $70,000 with much of the cost coming from Federal assistance.

Steve Wilharm presents the "Unsung Hero Award" to Patty Cassidy at the dinner.

Prior to the awards ceremony, District Magisterial Judge Richard King swore in the officers of the fire company and the ladies auxiliary.


Tony Gigliotti accepts the Mount Oliver Fire Department's "Man of the Year" Award..

Officers of the Mount Oliver Fire Department for this year are: James Cassidy, president; John Michener, vice-president; Heather Kestner, secretary; and, Steve Wilharm, treasurer. Members of the Board of Directors include: Dick Parks, John Wagner, Ed L. Davis, Joe Kreil Sr., Jim Sheehan, Tim Sherman and Matt Holmes.


June Cassidy, president of the Mount Oliver Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary, presents Tina Kriel and Lisa Lapp with tokens of appreciation for their work with the organization.

Also, Francis Kestner, chief; Ron Lowrey, assistant chief; Denny Korbe Jr., engine captain; Andy Marsh, truck captain; Tony Gigliotti, first lieutenant; Robert Sikora, second lieutenant; Joe Kreil Jr., third lieutenant; Tom Plietz, fire marshal; Jim Barrett, sergeant-at-arms; Nickolas Kratina, parade marshall; and, Earl "Smokie" Robinson, asst. parade marshall.

Reader Comments